Thursday, July 24, 2008

The Sixth Chakra

The Six Chakra in the Human Body.
{Transcription from holograph notebook of Aleister Crowley}

1. Mûlâdhâra the place of the Root or of Beginnings is at the base of the spinal column. It has 3
petals & 55 rays, & is the seat of Prithivi or Bhu.
Here Kundalinî lies coiled in 3½ coils in the form of a serpent, over the entrance of the Sushûmna
canal, so closely knit together around it that no Prana can pass.

2. Svadisthâna. the “proper place” of Kundalini i.e. in the Yogi. Situated in the navel.
Seat of the Apo tatwa.

3. Manipûra the “city of gems” so-called because very brilliant. In the Solar Plexus.
Abode of Agni tatwa.
4. Anáhata also called Hridiyama means “sound without collision” or “heart”.
In the heart.
Abode of Vâyu tatwa.

5. Vishûddha means “purity”.
In the root of the neck below larnyx.
Seat of Akâsa tatwa.

6. Ajñâ between the eyebrows. Means “Knowledge”.
Seat of Mano tatwa.

7. Sahasrâra above the head means the “thousand-petalled”
There are 3 breathings:
Rechakam: throwing out
Kumbhakam: storing
Purakam: inhaling
First Breathing
for purifying the Nadi (rivers or {...})
Assume an Asana (posture) which keeps the spine & head in one vertical straight line.
With the thumb & ring-finger of the r.h. close Pingala & do Recakam through Ida.
[Note Also Pîngala is the Solar (Surya = 6) current on the r.h. side of the human male
The Six Cakra in the Human Body
Download as A pdf file! Sanskrit letters will appear as visible.
– 2 –
body; Ida is the Lunar (Candra = 9) current on the l.h.
In women these are reversed.
Sushumna or Devamarga (path of the gods) is in the middle & is the vehicle of Agni.]
Then without any intermission, do Purakam through Ida.
Then close Ida with the ring-finger & do Recakam through Pingala.
And so on.
One cycle may be inaccurately termed a Prana-yama.
Let him do 80 such 4 times a day; but not more than 80.
The times of day are
(a) one hour before dawn
(b) at noon before feeding (This applies universally)
(c) About sunset
(d) Midnight
Ascertain the rate of Pranayama each man for himself: the idea is to breathe slightly more slowly,
but much more deeply, than usual.

Prana-yama means “control of Prana”. Prana is the cosmic Spirit of Life.
By restraining breath, then, we restrain Prana: by restraining Prana we restrain thought: thought,
departing, leaves room (Heb. in space) for nothingness.
It now becomes permissible, the nerves being purified to do a more-correctly-so-described Pranayama,
which is identical with above but internal Kumbhakam.
A Yoglet may know when his Nadî are purified by the appearance of the following signs:
1. Clear skin ü
2. Beautiful voice ü
3. Calm appearance of face
4. Bright eyes
5. Hearing constantly the Nada (silence)
Pratyâhâra the “drawing towards” of all the faculties: i.e. introspection as a constant and trained
natural attitude.
Dhârana “mental concentration on one object.” This results from Pratyahara.
Dhyâna is “when the thought-stuff flows in a continuous stream towards the object of Dhârana.
Cittam the thought stuff.
The Six Cakra in the Human Body

– 3 –

Download as A pdf file! Sanskrit letters will appear as visible.
Samâdhi is when the soul, remaining fixed in Dhyâna, discards the phenomenon meditated on, &
remains concentrated on its noumenon.
There are two sorts of Samadhi
Sa-vikalpa with a subject
Nir-vikalpa without a subject
Sa-vikalpa gives power.
Nir-vikalpa gives Môksha.
Moksha beggars description. It surpasses thought & may inaccurately be compared to Nirvana.
Moksha is the Peace or Bliss resulting from Nir-vikalpa.
There are two sorts of Moksha
Abhâva Non-existent i.e. to sense and thought
Ahamkâra the ego-making faculty
Ahimsa non-injuring.
The Constitution of the
Human Organism
Atma the Self or Knower
Sat absolute existence
Chit ——— wisdom
Ananda ——— ecstasy or bliss
These are not qualities of the Atma, but Atma is these three.
Anthakarana the internal instrument
C Atma
D Manas the mind or thought faculty
A Buddhi the discriminating faculty
B Cittam the thought-stuff
E Ahankara egoity
N.B. Manas & Chittam differ as the movement of the waters of a lake differ from the water itself.
Next come five organs of knowledge Gnanendriyam. D
Five organs of action Karmendriyam. A
Five subtle airs or Prânas. B
The five tatwas C D A B E of E
The Six Cakra in the Human Body
– 4 –
The Atma of Antakarana has 5 sheaths, called Kos’a.
C 1. “Body of bliss” is innermost
Anandamayakosá is still an illusion. Atma Buddhi & Manas at most participate.
2. Manomayakosá the illusionary thought-sheath including Manas Buddhi Chittam Ahankara
in union with one or more of the Gnanendriyams
3. Viññanamyakosá the consciousness sheath consists of Antakârana in union with an organ of
action or of sense (Gnan- & Karm-endriyam.)
4. Pranamayakosá Here we drop below Antakârana. Consists of the five airs.
5. Annamayakosá “Body of nourishment.” The faculty which feeds on the five tatwas.
The three Sharirani, or bodies
1. Karana Sharira Causal Body almost = the protoplast
2. Sukshuma Sharira Subtle Body. Consists of vital airs &c.
3. Sthula Shirara Gross Body.
{...}1 incarnated soul, plunged in Tamas, Rajas & Sattvas (Darkness, Energy, & Calm) & limited
by above-cited 25 instruments, & the Freed Soul, pure Atma or Paramatma or Viananukti, which by
virtue of practice of Yoga has seperated itself from the bondage of the 25 & is united to pure
Bhârya Orasys Dhimahi
Dhiya Yo Na Prachoddyat
Aum! Let us meditate on the Adorable Light of That divine Savitri, May She enlighten our minds!
Aum! Tat Sat! Aum!
O the Existant Truth! O!
1 The top portion of the notebook is cut off here.
2 Note in ms:
3 Note in ms (Yorke’s hand):
4 The title has been cut off.
Download as A pdf file! Sanskrit letters will appear as visible.

The Laws (Alexandrian Book of Shadows)

From the Alexandrian book of shadows
1.The Law was made and ordained of old.

2.The Law was made for the Wicca, to advise and help in their troubles.

3.The Wicca should give due worship to the gods and obey their will, which they ordain, for it was
made for the good of Wicca as the worship of the Wicca is good for the gods. For the gods love
the brethren of Wicca.

4.As a man loveth a woman by mastering her,

5.So should the Wicca love the gods by being mastered by them.

6.And it is necessary that the Circle which is the temple of the gods, should be truly cast and
purified. And that it may be a fit place for the gods to enter.

7.And the Wicca shall be properly prepared and purified to enter into the presence of the gods.

8.With love and worship in their hearts, they shall raise power from their bodies to give power to
the gods.

9.As has been taught of old.

10.For in this way only may men have communion with the gods, for the gods cannot help man
without the help of man.

Occult Magick on Facebook

Social Bookmarking
Bookmark Ocult Magic: Mr. Wong Bookmark Ocult Magic: Webnews Bookmark Ocult Magic: Oneview Bookmark Ocult Magic: Linkarena Bookmark Ocult Magic: Folkd Bookmark Ocult Magic: Digg Bookmark Ocult Magic: Bookmark Ocult Magic: Facebook Bookmark Ocult Magic: Reddit Bookmark Ocult Magic: Jumptags Bookmark Ocult Magic: Simpy Bookmark Ocult Magic: StumbleUpon Bookmark Ocult Magic: Slashdot Bookmark Ocult Magic: Propeller Bookmark Ocult Magic: Furl Bookmark Ocult Magic: Yahoo Bookmark Ocult Magic: Spurl Bookmark Ocult Magic: Google Bookmark Ocult Magic: Blinklist Bookmark Ocult Magic: Blogmarks Bookmark Ocult Magic: Diigo Bookmark Ocult Magic: Technorati Bookmark Ocult Magic: Newsvine Bookmark Ocult Magic: Blinkbits Bookmark Ocult Magic: Ma.Gnolia Bookmark Ocult Magic: Smarking Bookmark Ocult Magic: Netvouz Information

blogger templates | Make Money Online